With the Live to VOD feature, you'll be able to record, save, and convert your live streams into VOD content. Let's walk you through some important points about this feature:
How to Use the Live-to-VOD Feature
Enabling Live to VOD for a live stream
Step 1: Create a Live Stream project. Click here to learn more about how to start a live stream
Step 2: Before you go live, go to the Live to VOD tab and toggle on the Cloud Recording feature.
Step 3: After you’ve ended your stream, Castr will automatically generate a temporary recorded file and save it in the Temporary Files list in the Live to VOD tab for three days. You can perform the following with the temporary files:
Save as VOD: Save the recording on Castr as a video on demand. You can rename the VOD file after saving it.
*Enterprise users can download the VOD file anytime once it is saved in Video Hosting.
The Play icon: Preview the recording.
The Download icon: Save the recording as a .mp4 file to your computer.
Step 4: Once you’ve saved your temporary files as VOD files, you'll see the VOD files in 2 places:
In the stream itself. Your VOD files will be shown in the VOD section here:
In the Video Hosting tab. Each Live Stream will have a dedicated folder with the badge
Live-to-VODthat contains all VOD files converted for that stream only.
Step 5: Get the embed URL and iframe snippet:
Some important notes about deleting VOD files
Once you save your VOD files, they will be shown in the Live-to-VOD tab and the dedicated Video Hosting folder.
If you delete a VOD file in one place, the accordance VOD file stored in the other place will also be deleted, and vice versa.
But if you delete the live stream with the VOD files, Castr will not delete the VOD file stored in the Video Hosting.
This will be helpful in case you want to delete the stream but want to keep the VOD files (please note that temporary files will still be deleted, only VOD files will be held in Video Hosting).
Advanced VOD files settings
Suppose you need more advanced settings for your VOD files. In that case, we recommend you to go to the folder under Video Hosting for full access to player and security features such as Enable/Disable Auto Play, Password Protection, and so on: